Southwestern U.S. & Mexico

5 Needle Pine Regional Key

This region includes the states of Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas in the southwestern United States, and northern Mexico. Four species of 5 needle pine are known to occur in this region: Rocky Mountain Bristle Cone Pine (Pinus aristata), Limber pine (Pinus flexilis), Southwestern white pine (Pinus strobiformis), and Sugar Pine (Pinus lambertiana). A dichotomous key to the 5 needle pines of this region is provided below. Many of leads in the key follow from Kral et al. (2022). Photos of seed cones of the 5 needle pines in this region are presented below the key.

Literature Cited

Kral, R. 2022. Pinus. In: Flora of North America Editorial Committee, eds. 1993+. Flora of North America North of Mexico [Online]. 22+ vols. New York and Oxford. Vol. 2. Accessed [2022-09-11].

%d bloggers like this: